The Taste of Things

2 hours 16 minutes

PG-13

Maine Film Center

Maine Film Center, 93 Main Street, Waterville, Maine

The Taste of Things is at once a delight for all five senses and an affecting drama of a relationship, as idiosyncratic as all loving ones are. Lingering on the tongue like a sip of Châteauneuf-du-Pape, the film leaves one feeling a little drunk, desperately hungry and entirely alive”–The Wall Street Journal. It’s 1885 in rural France. Peerless cook Eugenie (the nonpareil Juliette Binoche) has worked for the famous gourmet Dodin (Benoît Magimel) for the last 20 years. As time went by, the practice of gastronomy and mutual admiration turned into a romantic relationship. Their association gives rise to dishes, each one more delicious than the last, that confound even the world’s most illustrious chefs. But Eugenie is fond of her freedom and has never wanted to marry Dodin. So, he decides to do something he has never done before: cook for her. “Food is the subject, the objective and the driving motor of this scantly plotted but utterly captivating love story”–Variety.

In French with English subtitles.

This film is eligible for the Youth Arts Access Fund. Call the Box Office at 207.873.7000 to obtain YAAF tickets. Pay it forward! Donate to YAAF here.

WATCH TRAILER >

Tickets

Monday, February 26
Tuesday, February 27
Wednesday, February 28
Thursday, February 29
Friday, March 1
Saturday, March 2
Sunday, March 3
Monday, March 4
Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×