Perfect Days

2 hours 3 minutes

PG

Maine Film Center

Maine Film Center, 93 Main Street, Waterville, Maine

2024 Oscar Nominee: Best International Feature Film! ! “A profound tale of finding peace, meaning and beauty in life”–Next Best Pictures. Nothing in all of Wim Wenders’ incredible filmography–which includes Wings of Desire, Paris Texas, Buena Vista Social Club, Until the End of the World, The American Friend, and Anselm (coming very soon to the Maine Film Center)–is really like Perfect Days, but then nothing anybody has ever made is quite like it. Hirayama (Kôji Yakusho, winner of the Cannes Film Festival’s Best Actor award for his work here) is content with his simple life cleaning toilets in Tokyo. Outside of his structured routine he cherishes music on cassette tapes (which we get to share with him in one of the best soundtracks ever assembled), books, and taking photos of trees. Unexpected encounters reveal more of his story in a deeply moving and poetic reflection on finding beauty in the world around us. “Perfectly uplifting. A life-changing experience”–First Showing.

In Japanese with English subtitles.

This film is eligible for the Youth Arts Access Fund. Call the Box Office at 207.873.7000 to obtain YAAF tickets. Pay it forward! Donate to YAAF here.

WATCH TRAILER >

Tickets

Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Friday, March 8
Saturday, March 9
Sunday, March 10
Monday, March 11
Tuesday, March 12
Wednesday, March 13
Thursday, March 14
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×